CCIE lab exam – study plan

So finally I made it to write a concept for my studies the next months. I hope I will make it to keep the line with all the Todos.

A little enforcement is needed here I think. I will let you know how I managed it. All of the topics I will fight with, are supported by cisco press books I use. Soon I will list all my study sources and the material I got.

Week 07: Multicast theory, INE Multicast Deep Dive
Week 08: Multicast LAB, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 8
Week 09: L2 Switching Theory, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 1 (Already did a lot with that)
Week 10: Frame-Relay Theory, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 2
Week 11: IP Routing, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 3
Week 12: Routing Protocols, RIP, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 4
Week 13: Routing Protocols, OSPF, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 6
Week 14: Routing Protocols, OSPF, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 6
Week 15: Routing Protocols, EIGRP, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 5
Week 16: Routing Protocols, EIGRP INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 5
Week 17: Routing Protocols, IS-IS (not covered within the blueprint of the CCIE v4 but I am sure it is good to know about it)
Week 18: IPv6, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 9
Week 19: IPv6, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 9
Week 20: IPv6, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 9
Week 21: Routing Protocols, BGP, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 7
Week 22: Routing Protocols, BGP, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 7
Week 23: Routing Protocols, BGP, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 7
Week 24: MPLS, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 14
Week 25: MPLS, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 14
Week 26: MPLS, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 14
Week 27: QoS, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 10
Week 28: QoS, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 10
Week 29: QoS, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 10
Week 30: Security, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 11
Week 31: Security, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 11
Week 32: IP services, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 13
Week 33: IP Services, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 13
Week 34: Network Management & Services, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 12
Week 35: Network Management & Services, INE Workbook Vol 1, Chapter 12
Week 36: Repetition of all Topics and find out the weaknesses
Week 37: Repetition of all Topics and find out the weaknesses
Week 38: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 39: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 40: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 41: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 42: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 43: Bootcamp
Week 44: Bootcamp
Week 45: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 46: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 47: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 48: Lab Workbooks and fix the weaknesses
Week 49: Lab Exam

When its time I will continue here because planning so many weeks is quite unpredictable the longer the list gets.
Regards!

About markus.wirth

Living near Limburg in Germany, working as a Network Engineer around Frankfurt am Main.
This entry was posted in Study plan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to CCIE lab exam – study plan

  1. CCIE2012 says:

    Hi, great planner!

    Just wonder what you did week 1-6 and also I’m assuming you passed CCIE written before starting this lab study plan?

    About to start my CCIE written exam studies, so any help on the written section in terms of planning etc would be great!

    Nice blog so far, all the best!!

    Cheers,

    Rob

  2. markus.wirth says:

    Hi!°
    The first 6 weeks I did vacation, built the home lab, organizing things and so on. Didnt learn that much…but did some multicast here too. Yeah the written is quite straight through and I can say to you that you maybe should separate your studies for the written from the ones for the lab.
    Here is an interesting discussion about that: http://ieoc.com/forums/p/19007/164020.aspx#164020
    Maybe you can have a look at that!

    Regards!
    Markus

    • CCIE2012 says:

      Thanks for the link..I’m a big believer in ‘bootcamp’ style education, so although I was reading with someones comment its not a sprint, in some regards you do have to ‘push’ to get to the next level at a nice steady momentum building pace!

      Will be in touch to chat more about the DIY lab setup once I pass the written!

      Cheers,

      Rob

  3. markus.wirth says:

    Sure! You are welcome!

    Regards!

  4. ccie99999 says:

    Hi Markus.. I like your plan and I did one very similar and my lab date could be week 50 but I think to postpone to 2013.. Anyway don’t you want to do any VOL 2 of any vendor?

  5. markus.wirth says:

    Hi!
    I think I will keep up with the INE WBs. I have to go in december because my employer has a candidate program for that and the aim here is certification in december 2012.

    Regards!
    Markus

  6. ccie99999 says:

    I understand. lucky you that you’ve a company that supports you!
    good luck.

  7. Randall says:

    Markus, how has your progress been regarding this plan? Were you able to stick with it, or would you modify it at all? I am currently preparing for the written, and would like to use your plan as a template to build for myself, and any experience you might have with it would be a great asset to base off of.

  8. ccie_wannabe says:

    any news on your plan Markus? planned some VOL II labs maybe?

  9. Ralf says:

    Markus… You had a lot of plans! Why didn’t you stuck to them? Why did you choose to give up?
    WHY???

  10. moro says:

    @Ralf
    what does your posting mean?

  11. komay says:

    wow, it’s great bro..
    happy learning.

  12. CiscoGuy says:

    2017 Update?

Leave a Reply

